(641) 637-4187 2163 135th Street, New Sharon, IA 50207

North Mahaska’s annual induction ceremony for the National Honor Society was held Thursday, March 14 in the high school auditorium. A total of 10 students were inducted into the school’s chapter. They include senior Callie Shaw, and juniors Karlee Chandler, Alex Knockel, Isaac Knockel, Elizabeth LaRue, Paige Layman, Cheyenne Shaw, Kassidi Steel, Emma Terpstra, and Emma Tyrrel. They join current senior members Alicia Edmundson, Kathryn Goemaat, Adam Lobberecht, Clarissa Northcutt, Morgan Sampson, and Phillip Spoelstra. They are under the advisement of Ms. Rachel Martin and Mrs. Kate Hite. Following the ceremony, inductees and guests enjoyed cupcakes baked and decorated by Mrs. Karina Vanderweerdt’s foods class and served by Mr. Steve Ehret and Mr. Kipp Schuler.

To be eligible for membership consideration, students must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.25. Additionally, candidates must meet high standards of service, leadership, and character. As members of NHS, these students will now engage in a number of individual and chapter service projects including elementary walk-a-thon, NSCCP bazaar, NM preschool fun night, and a community blood drive to be held April 10. NHS is the nation’s oldest and best-known student recognition program and was founded in 1921 by the National Association of Secondary School Principals.