(641) 637-4187 2163 135th Street, New Sharon, IA 50207

South Iowa Cedar League wrestling tournament turned into a triangular for 2020-21. Someday there may be an asterisk in the stats column but regardless North Mahaska is the reigning champion. The Warhawks earned six individual titles to take the crown over Lynnville-Sully and host Colfax-Mingo. The meet was originally scheduled for BGM but apparently COVID-19 issue and injuries kept teams from participating. All the schools are preparing for next Saturday’s sectionals, the first step toward a state tourney berth.

According to a post by North Mahaska assistant coach Eric Groom on a Facebook post, the Warhawks were the dominant team. They defeated Lynnville-Sully 39-33 and Colfax-Mingo, 44-36.

“We traveled to Colfax today for the 2020-2021 Conference tournament,” the post stated. “It wasn’t a normal one but the Warhawks showed up to dominate and did just that.”

North Mahaska won seven of the 13 contested matches and picked up eight wins by forfeit. Weight class winners were: 106-Matt German, 120- Paul DeJong, 138- Michael DeJong, 160- Noah Jedlicka, 220- Jakob Clark, and 285- Trace Goemaat.

Sectional wrestling will take place at Sigourney Saturday beginning at noon. Due to a change in the IHSAA policy, ticketing for postseason events will now be all online through the Hometown Ticketing system.

Persons wishing to attend the sectional wrestling meet at Sigourney, will need to purchase your ticket in advance online, or use a device and your credit card at the door to purchase your ticket online through Hometown Ticketing. Cash sales will NOT be an option for postseason events.

The link for the sectional wrestling meet will open up for sales on Wednesday, Feb. 3. Further instructions will be posted on the morning of the Feb. 3.

North Mahaska 39, Lynnville-Sully 33
106: Matt German (NM) over (L-S) (For.)
113: Gentry Walston (L-S) over (NM) (For.)
120: Paul De Jong (NM) over (L-S) (For.)
126: Lauren Basicilio (NM) over (L-S) (For.)
132: Caleb Rea (L-S) over (NM) (For.)
138: Michael DeJong (NM) over CJ Snethen (L-S) (Dec 3-0)
145: Maxwell Mintle (L-S) over Wyatt VanWeelden (NM) (Fall 1:27)
152: Reese Dunsbergen (L-S) over Austin McMahan (NM) (Fall 0:46)
160: Noah Jedlicka (NM) over Kyle Squires (L-S) (Fall 3:47)
170: Isaac Vos (L-S) over Libby Groom (NM) (Fall 0:54)
182: –
195: Miles Mintle (L-S) over Hayden Jones (NM) (Dec 3-0)
220: Jakob Clark (NM) over (L-S) (For.)
285: Trace Goemaat (NM) over (L-S) (For.)

North Mahaska 44, Colfax-Mingo 36
106: Matt German (NM) over (C-M) (For.)
113: Noah Strohmeyer (C-M) over (NM) (For.)
120: Paul De Jong (NM) over Mariah Webster (C-M) (Fall 2:55)
126: John McGill (C-M) over Lauren Basicilio (NM) (Fall 1:08)
132: Austin Lane (C-M) over (NM) (For.)
138: Michael DeJong (NM) over Cavan Magnuson (C-M) (Fall 2:58)
145: Wyatt VanWeelden (NM) over Kylie Doty (C-M) (Fall 1:56)
152: Hunter Stevens (C-M) over Austin McMahan (NM) (Fall 0:34)
160: Noah Jedlicka (NM) over (C-M) (For.)
170: Trystin Anderson (C-M) over Libby Groom (NM) (Fall 0:31)
182: Shane Aikin (C-M) over (NM) (For.)
195: Hayden Jones (NM) over Ben Keeney (C-M) (TF 18-3 5:46)
220: Jakob Clark (NM) over (C-M) (For.)
285: Trace Goemaat (NM) over Kenny Schlosser (C-M) (Dec 4-0)