(641) 637-4187 2163 135th Street, New Sharon, IA 50207

Iowa High School Athletic Association has released district basketball assignments for the upcoming 2022 tournament series. Brackets will be released once seeding has been completed in a week or two.

Class 1A District 10 resembles a combination of a South Iowa Cedar League and Southeast Superconference tournament. News-Review schools English Valley, Keota, Pekin, Sigourney and Tri-County will be in a district with BGM, Iowa Valley, Montezuma, New London and WACO.

Currently New London is ranked No. 7 and WACO has received votes for The Associated Press top 10. Montezuma is the defending state champion and is third in the SICL standings behind Iowa Valley. The winner of this district will meet in a substate with the winner of District 9.

District 9 contains Columbus Community, Danville, Highland Riverside, Hillcrest Academy, Holy Trinity, Lone Tree, Burlington Notre Dame, Wapello and Winfield-Mount Union.

The other area team, North Mahaska, will be headed south in District 12. The SICL leader, which had been ranked as high as eighth by The AP, will be challenged by Moravia, Lamoni, Mormon Trail, Moulton-Udell, Mount Ayr, Seymour, Twin Cedars and Wayne.

District 11 substate is led by current No. 7 ranked Martensdale St. Marys along with Baxter, BCLUW, Collins-Maxwell, Colo-Nesco, GMG, Lynnville-Sully, Melcher-Dallas and Southeast Warren.

Tournament pairings should be released the first week of February. Tournament games commence Feb. 11 with games on Feb. 14, 17 and district finals on Feb. 22.