(641) 637-4187 2163 135th Street, New Sharon, IA 50207

North Mahaska’s annual induction ceremony for the National Honor Society was held on March 16, in North Mahaska Auditorium. A total of nine students, a mixture of juniors and seniors, were inducted this year into the school’s chapter. They include Ben Bunn, Carson Doak, Cole German, Lucy Gipple, Katie Fogle, Andy Knockel, Jalayna Shipley, Clay Thompson, and Brock Walkup. They join the current members Dinah DeBoef, Trace Goemaat, Lane Harmon, Ben Johannes, and Peter Stout.

NM NHS is under the advisement of Ms. Rachel Martin and Mrs. Kate Hite. Following the candlelight induction ceremony, a time of fellowship was held in the cafeteria. We wish to thank Mrs. Deanna Lee’s Culinary class for providing the dessert.

To be eligible for membership consideration, students must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 Additionally, candidates must meet high standards of service, leadership, and character. Leadership is based on the student’s participation in community and school activities. To meet the service requirement, the student must have been active in service projects in the school and community. Character is measured in terms of integrity, behavior, ethics, and cooperation with both students and faculty. Students are then reviewed by a faculty council before acceptance is given.

As members of NHS, these students will now engage in a number of individual and chapter service projects. This includes hosting their annual blood drive; this year it will be the afternoon of Thursday, March 23 in the North Mahaska High School Gym. If the community knows of any additional service projects, please reach out to us to find out how we can help.
NHS is the nation’s oldest and best-known student recognition program and was founded in 1921 by the National Association of Secondary School Principals.


North Mahaska inducted nine new members on March 16 into the school’s National Honor Society. Members include seated: Peter Stout, Lane Harmon, Dinah DeBoef, Ben Johannes, and Trace Goemaat. Standing: Cole Garman, Brock Walkup, Ben Bunn, Lucy Gipple, Jalayna Shipley, Katie Fogle, Andy Knockel, Carson Doak, and Clay Thompson.