(641) 637-4187 2163 135th Street, New Sharon, IA 50207

North Mahaska’s track saw a flurry of activity as 16 boys and girls track teams gathered for one of the first meets of the season for junior runners. Pella Christian and North Mahaska took the top two spots in both divisions. Pella Christian girls won with 203 points followed by NM with 126. The PC boys won 208-114.

North Mahaska picked up three firsts, five seconds and double placed in four events. Allie Veiseth and Emmerson Jedlicka took the top two spots in the 1,500 meters. Veiseth covered the course in 6 minutes 19.37 seconds and Jedlicka finished in 6:28.29. The other two victories came in the relays.

Jedlicka, Veiseth, Kayla Readshaw and Aly Steil took first in the 1,600 meter relay in 5:08.44. The shuttle hurdle team of Ashlyn Kirk, Alivia Schock, Gracie DeGeest and Ava Huffman finished first in 1:29.90.

Two second place finishes came in the 3,200 relay and distance medley. Veiseth, Jedlicka, Abby Van Weelden and Steil finished the 3,200 in 12:31.87 and Peyton Sanders, Regan Grewe, Schock and Readshaw ran the distance med in 5:19.73.

Madeline Doonan and Falynn Rivera doubled in the 100 meters. Doonan finished in 15.37 and Rivera finished in 16.33. Grewe and Sanders were second and third in 31.3 and 32.14 respectively. Jayden Hiner and Van Weelden were third and fourth in the 400 meters in 1:20.59 and 1:21.84. In the 100 hurdles, Kirk was fifth in 22.48 and Amber Knockel ran seventh in 22.54.

North Mahaska boys picked up one win and three seconds on their way to the runnerup spot in the team race. Lucas Nunnikhoven took the top spot in the 100 hurdles in 17.69. Nunnikhoven and Charlie Goemaat placed second and eighth in the long jump with leaps of 17-feet 1.5 inches and 13-3.5 respectively.

Ben Yang scored a second in the 400 meters in 1:05.83 then teamed with Asher DeBoef to take second and third in the 800 meters. Yang finished in 2:33.02 and DeBoef in 2:39.80.

NM picked up a runnerup spot in the 3,200-meter relay with the team of Yang, Ryan Groom, Rylan Spray and DeBoef. The quartet ran it in 11:03.61